New Zealand’s lost Great Walk?

Te Pua-ā-Tāne Circuit, Whirinaki Te Pua-ā-Tāne Conservation Park

Sam Harrison
18 min readDec 15, 2023

--

State Forest 58. An unemotive name for an emotive place, one of the world’s last vestiges of prehistoric rainforest. Its rarity wasn’t always appreciated, the mighty podocarp almost falling victim to the sawyer’s progress. More on that later, this is my story with that evocative forest, Whirinaki.

1. Rain in a rainforest

Carpark to Central Whirinaki Hut (?)

“Whirinaki is my absolute favourite place, I just WISH I had more time there”

Regan gave Whirinaki Te Pua-ā-Tāne Conservation Park a rave review. He does this for most backcountry places, yet it was enough to get me to set my sights on the 54,000 hectare park. With the final results from the general election still pending I managed to convince Hugh to join me for one last adventure before the Parliament returned. As our walk approached the weather forecast looked ominous but seemed to be improving? Perhaps a bit of misplaced optimism. Several favours had to be pulled to get us to the park so there was no plan B.

--

--

Sam Harrison

Tramper with something to say about tramps (of the walking variety).